Although Pennsylvania’s marijuana law is not as relaxed as the measure recently passed in Massachusetts, the possession of a small amount of marijuana is punished less harshly than possession of over 30 grams of marijuana.

Under the current statute, possession of under 30 grams of marijuana is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. If you are in possession of over 30 grams of marijuana, you may receive up to 1 year in jail and a $5,000 fine.