Pittsburgh Sex Crimes and Offenses

Few crimes carry the stigma of a sex crime.  If you are convicted of a sexual offense, you are not just given a sentence; you are often marked as a sexual offender for life.  Defendants convicted of certain sexual charges are required to register with the state under Megan’s Law (Click here for information about Megan’s Law Registration Requirements).  Whether you are charged with indecent assault, IDSI, rape, or statutory sexual assault (statutory rape), it is important to have an experienced attorney at your side as early in the process as possible.  Contact the Criminal Defense Attorneys of Bickerton & Bickerton for a consultation.


What are some of the sexual offenses in Pennsylvania?
The following are some of the sex crimes in Pennsylvania:
•    Rape
•    Statutory sexual assault (A defendant has sexual intercourse with a person under 16 and more than 4 years younger than the defendant)
•    Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse (IDSI)
•    Sexual Assault
•    Institutional Sexual Assault
•    Aggravated Indecent Assault
•    Indecent Assault
•    Indecent Exposure
•    Sexual intercourse with an animal
•    Indecent contact with a minor
•    Statutory Sexual Assault (Statutory Rape)
What are the Megan’s Law Registration Requirements in Pennsylvania?
Under Megan’s Law, defendants convicted of certain sexual charges are required to register with the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.  The following are the Megan’s Law  registration requirements:
A defendant is required to register under Megan’s Law for ten years under the following circumstances:
•    Offenders who are convicted of one of the following offenses:
?    Kidnapping, where the victim is a minor (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 2901);
?    Luring a Child into a Motor Vehicle (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 2910);
?    Institutional Sexual Assault (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 3124.2);
?    Indecent Assault where the offense is graded as a misdemeanor of the first degree or higher (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 3126);
?    Incest, where the victim is 12 years of age or older but under 18 years of age (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 4302);
?    Prostitution and related offenses, where the actor promotes the prostitution of a minor (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 5902[b]);
?    Obscene and other sexual materials and performances, where the victim is a minor (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 5903[a] [3], [4], [5], or [6]);
?    Sexual abuse of children (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 6312);
?    Unlawful contact with minor (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 6318);
?    Sexual exploitation of children (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 6320);
•    Offenders convicted of an attempt to commit any of the offenses listed above;
•    Offenders convicted in jurisdictions outside the Commonwealth of an equivalent offense listed under the 10-year registration and the offender:
?    Resides in the Commonwealth; or
?    Is employed or carries on a vocation in the Commonwealth; or
?    Is a student in the Commonwealth.
Note: Offenders convicted in other jurisdictions are subject to a period of registration equal to that of their jurisdiction of origin, but in no case will the registration period be less than ten years.  In other words, if the other jurisdiction has a period longer than Pennsylvania’s, the offender must register for the longer period.  In the period in the other jurisdiction is less than ten years, the offender must register for ten years.
•    Offenders paroled after the effective date of the statute for any of the offenses under the 10-year registration.
A defendant is required to register for Megan’s Law for life under the following circumstances:
•    Offenders with two or more convictions of any of the offenses set forth under the 10-year registration.  These offenses include:
?  Rape (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 3121);
?  Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 3123);
?  Sexual Assault (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 3124.1);
?  Aggravated Indecent Assault (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 3125);
?  Incest, where the victim is under 12 years of age (18 Pa. C.S.A. Section 4302);
•    Offenders designated by the court as Sexually Violent Predators;
•    Offenders being released from a state or county correctional facility for any of the offenses under lifetime registration;
•    Offenders convicted in jurisdictions outside the Commonwealth of an equivalent offense listed under lifetime registration and the offender:
?    Resides in the Commonwealth; or
?    Is employed or carries on a vocation in the Commonwealth; or
?    IIs a student in the Commonwealth.
•    Offenders paroled after the effective date of the statute for any of the offenses under lifetime registration.

Few crimes carry the stigma of a sex crime.  If you are convicted of a sexual offense, you are not just given a sentence; you are often marked as a sexual offender for life.  Defendants convicted of certain sexual charges are required to register with the state under Megan’s Law.  Whether you are charged with indecent assault, IDSI, rape, or statutory sexual assault (statutory rape), it is important to have an experienced attorney at your side as early in the process as possible.  If you are facing charges of rape or another sex crime, call the Criminal Defense Attorneys of Bickerton & Bickerton for a consultation or fill out the contact form at the bottom of the page for a case evaluation.

What are some of the sexual offenses in Pennsylvania?

The following are some of the sex crimes in Pennsylvania:

  • Rape
  • Statutory sexual assault (Statutory Rape: A defendant has sexual intercourse with a person under 16 and more than 4 years younger than the defendant)
  • Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse (IDSI)
  • Sexual Assault
  • Institutional Sexual Assault
  • Aggravated Indecent Assault
  • Indecent Assault
  • Indecent Exposure
  • Sexual intercourse with an animal
  • Indecent contact with a minor
  • Possession of child pornography

What if there is no physical evidence showing that a sexual assault or rape took place?

Under Pennsylvania law, a person can be convicted of rape or any other type of sexual offense without any physical evidence. In fact, juries are specifically instructed that they can convict a defendant of rape based upon the victim’s statements alone.

How can I fight an allegation of sexual assault?

The first step is by not making any statements to the police. The second step is to hire a criminal defense attorney who is trained and experienced in fighting sex crimes. Although no two cases are the same, a lawyer experienced in fighting allegations of sexual assault will know how to properly handle the preliminary hearing, how to obtain and challenge the evidence, and how to work to get the best result possible in your case.

What if I plan on entering a guilty plea?

Even if you plan on pleading guilty, you still need to have an experienced attorney by your side to go through the evidence to make sure that you are pleading to the right offense and to help you get the best deal possible. A good criminal defense attorney will also explain all of the extra consequences, including Megan’s Law registration and employment issues.

Fill out this form for a case evaluation:





 Pre-Arrest Interview Preliminary Hearing Trial Appeal Post-Conviction Relief Petition



Next Court Date

Your Message

4+8=?